Message from the Workshop Chair and Program Chair

We welcome you all to the 14th Reconfigurable Architectures Workshop being part of the annual symposium on international parallel & distributed processing IPDPS 2007 held in Long Beach, California, USA.

The workshop covers a range of actual and interdisciplinary topics: new reconfigurable architectures, design methods, run-time reconfiguration, algorithms and technologies. This year the special focus is coarse grain reconfigurable. Coarse Grain architectures, methods, tools and applications are presented in several special sessions.

Over more than one decade this workshop has been an unique forum promoting multidisciplinary research and new visionary research approaches in the area of reconfigurable computing.

Future design methodologies are also one of the key topics at the workshop, as well as new tools to support them. This year we are happy to count 68 high quality submissions from 22 different countries all over the world. Based on at least 3 reviews per paper a thorough selection of 33 regular papers was done with the great support of all program committee members. In addition, two attractive keynote contributions enrich the content of this workshop. This year RAW provides an innovative platform for authors from 14 countries to present their qualified work at this workshop and to discuss it with all participants.

We would like to take the opportunity to acknowledge the effort and help from the program committee members and reviewers, and thank all authors and invited speakers for their contributions to the program. Many thanks to the steering chair Viktor Prasanna (University of Southern California) as well as to the publicity chairs Ramachandran Vaidyanathan (Louisiana State University) and Reiner Hartenstein (Kaiserslautern University of Technology, Germany) for their constant input and support of RAW 2007. Moreover, we would like to stress the great job of Oliver Sander and Michael Hübner (Universität Karlsruhe) for assisting us in all organizational matters.

We wish you a very prolific workshop and hope you will find these proceedings to be a valuable information reference for your future work.

Serge Vernalde, Workshop Chair IMEC, Leuven, Belgium Jürgen Becker, Program Chair Universitaet Karlsruhe(TH), Germany

Karlsruhe, January 2007

Introduction:

Run-Time and Dynamic Reconfiguration are characterized by the ability of underlying hardware architectures or devices to rapidly alter (on the fly) the functionalities of its components and the interconnection between them to suit the problem. Key to this ability is reconfiguration handling and speed. Though theoretical models and algorithms for them have established reconfiguration as a very powerful computing paradigm, practical considerations make these models difficult to realize. On the other hand, commercially available devices (such as FPGAs and new coarse-/multi-grain devices) appear to have more room for exploiting run-time reconfiguration (RTR). An appropriate mix of the theoretical foundations of dynamic reconfiguration, and practical considerations, including architectures, technologies and tools supporting RTR is essential to fully reveal and exploit the possibilities created by this powerful computing paradigm. RAW 2007 aims to provide a forum for creative and productive interaction between all these disciplines.

Fields of interest:

Author's contributions come from all areas of dynamic and run-time reconfiguration (foundations, algorithms, hardware architectures, devices, systems-on-chip (SoC), technologies, software tools, and applications). The topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

Models & Architectures

- Theoretical Interconnect and Computation Models (R-Mesh, etc.)
- RTR Models and Systems
- RTR Hardware Architectures
- Optical Interconnect Models
- Simulation and Prototyping
- Bounds and Complexity Issues

Algorithms & Applications

- Algorithmic Techniques
- Mapping Parallel Algorithms
- Distributed Systems & Networks
- Fault Tolerance Issues
- Wireless and Mobile Systems
- Automotive Applications
- Infotainment & Multimedia
- Biology Inspired Applications

Design, **Technologies & Tools**

- Configurable Systems-on-Chip
- Energy Efficiency Issues
- Devices and Circuits
- Reconfiguration Techniques
- High Level Design Methods
- System Support
- Adaptive Runtime Systems
- Organic Computing

Organization:

Workshop Chair:	Serge Vernalde, IMEC, Belgium
Program Chair:	Jürgen Becker, Universität Karlsruhe (TH), Germany
Steering Chair:	Viktor K. Prasanna, University of Southern California, USA
Publicity Chair (USA):	Ramachandran Vaidyanathan, Louisiana State University, USA
Publicity Chair (EU, Asia):	Reiner Hartenstein, Kaiserslautern University of Technology, Germany

Program Committee:

Jeffrey Arnold Mauricio Ayala Sergio Bampi Jürgen Becker Pascal Benoit Mladen Berekovic Neil Bergmann Don Bouldin Elaheh Bozorgzadeh Gordon Brebner Thomas Buechner Fabio Campi Luigi Carro Peter Y. K. Cheung Andreas Dandalis Oliver Diessel Pedro C. Diniz Adam Donlin Gilbert Edelin Manfred Glesner Steve Guccione Masanori Hariyama Reiner Hartenstein Ulrich Heinkel Andreas Herkersdorf Christian Hochberger Thomas Hollstein Michael Huebner Mark Jones Srinivas Katkoori Udo Kebschull Andreas Koch Rainer Kress Helena Krupnova Vera Lauer

Adaptive Silicon Inc. Universidade de Brasilia Universidade Federal do Rio Grande Universitaet Karlsruhe (TH) LIRMM IMEC University of Queensland University of Tennessee University of California University of Edinburgh IBM Universitae di Bologna Universidade Federal do Rio Grande Imperial College, London Philips University of New South Wales University of Southern California/ISI Xilinx Thales Research & Technology Darmstadt University of Technology Quicksilver Technology Tohoku University University of Kaiserslautern Lucent Technologies Institute for Integrated Systems Dresden University of Technology Darmstadt University of Technology ITIV Universitaet Karlsruhe Virginia Tech Univ of South Florida Universitaet Leipzig Technische Universitaet Darmstadt Infineon Technologies ST Microelectronics

DaimlerChrysler AG

Rudy Lauwereins Philip Leong Marnane Liam Wayne Luk Juergen Luka Patrick Lysaght John McHenry Martin Middendorf Amar Mukherjee Koji Nakano Ranjani Parthasarathi Cameron Patterson Thilo Pionteck Joachim Pistorius Marco Platzner Bernard Pottier Franz Rammig Ricardo Reis Marco Santambrogio Hartmut Schmeck Sakir Sezer Gerard Smit V. Sridhar Juergen Teich Lionel Torres Jim Torresen Jerry L. Trahan Ramachandran Vaidyanathan Carlos Valderrama Milan Vasilko Stamatis Vassiliadis Brian Veale Martin Vorbach Klaus Waldschmidt Norbert Wehn

IMEC, Leuven Chinese University of Hong Kong University College Imperial College DaimlerChrysler AG Xilinx National Security Agency Universitaety of Leipzig University of Central Florida Hiroshima University Anna University, Chennai Virginia Tech Universitaet Luebeck Altera Universitaet Paderborn Universitat de Bretagne Occidentale Universitaet Paderborn Universidade Federal do Rio Grande Politecnico di Milano Universitaet Karlsruhe (TH) Queen's University University of Twente Satyam Computer Services Ltd. Friedrich-Alexander-Universitaet Erlangen LIRMM, Montpellier University of Oslo Louisiana State University Louisiana State University University Mons Bournemouth University Delft University of Technology IBM PACT Informationstechnologie Universitaet Frankfurt University of Kaiserslautern